Defining your needs

Once you have an accurate picture of your financial capacity and have established your budget, the next step is to define your needs. This exercise will allow you to reflect on your priorities, which will help you in your search and will guide me to help you. Following are the main elements to consider when defining your expectations.

Type of property

Are you looking for a single-family dwelling, a duplex or a townhouse? Do you prefer a new or older house? Do you want to own the house and the land or would you prefer a condominium in which only one unit is yours?

Neighborhood

Are you looking for a home downtown or in the suburbs? Do you prefer a new area? What is your tolerance to noise and pollution? Are you looking to avoid high-traffic areas? Is the state of development of the area where you will be living important to you? Do zoning regulations allow room for change?

Proximity of services

What are your needs in terms of public transit and public or commercial services? Is being close to work or to schools, etc. important to you? Will you feel safer living close to a hospital or a police or fire station?

Indoor aspect

What are your needs in terms of space? How many bedrooms and bathrooms are necessary? Do you want air conditioning? How much storage room do you need? Do you need a laundry room and a workshop?

 Outdoor aspect

What are your needs in terms of parking? Do you like gardening? If so, what are the sunlight requirements? Do you want a terrace, a patio, a balcony, a pool?

Need for renovations

Are you looking for a house that needs no improvements? If you are thinking of doing the work yourself, do you have the necessary skills? If not, have you evaluated the cost of repairs?

Organizing your search

Organizing the search for your home is not a simple step. It is the most important and often the longest. It is recommended to take all the time you need before buying a home. The key to choosing the right home is to really know your needs. Talk to your broker or agent about your priorities and try to identify the features you are looking for but that could be subject to compromises. This way, you will avoid wasting time viewing houses that are too expensive, too big or that are simply not what you are looking for.

 Choosing well

When you have found the home you are looking for, try to see it at least twice, once during the day and once at night both during the week and on the weekend. This way, you can see for yourself the activity level in the neighborhood at those hours when you will likely be at home. You can also appreciate the amount of traffic, ambient noise, street lighting, etc. Check everything: carpets, drapes, light fixtures, etc.

Remember that the Description sheet provided by the seller’s broker can also help you evaluate a property in which you are interested. This document contains a detailed description of the property in its current state and allows you to learn all the details which can help you form an enlightened opinion before you make a decision. The same goes for the form entitled “Declarations by the Seller”, in which the seller reports on the condition of the immovable to the best of his knowledge. Review your list of priorities and take time to think without rushing. Buying a house that is not suited to your needs or which has a major flaw can have serious consequences.

Elements to verify

Check the general state of the house: roof, gutters, siding, paint, etc.

Is the house energy-efficient?

Is it well insulated?

Are heating costs high?

How is the air quality and circulation?

Is the house damp?

Are there traces of mildew? If so, check for cracks or water infiltration.

Do you have any reason to believe there are structural problems? Stuck windows or uneven floors point to this sort of problem.

Flush the toilets and check faucets to make sure there is sufficient pressure.

Setting the fair market value of a property

If you are interested in a property, it is important to get an idea of its actual value on the market. With the help of your broker or agent, compare the house you like to other properties in the neighborhood and try to identify the elements which could have a positive or a negative impact on the asking price: location, size, year of construction and state of preservation of the property, number and layout of rooms, materials used, landscaping, features specific to the area, etc. This information will help you determine the price you will offer the seller.

As your realtor I can help you to find the home that’s right for you. I would love the opportunity to work with you and I am confident that I will be of value to you

108 queries in 0.602 seconds.
About this site
Tools

Le bilan de vos besoins

Vous avez une idée précise de votre capacité financière et avez établi votre budget en conséquence. La prochaine étape consiste à faire le bilan de vos besoins. Cet exercice vous permettra de faire le point sur l’ensemble de vos priorités, ce qui facilitera vos recherches et guidera votre courtier ou agent immobilier. Vous trouverez ci-dessous les principaux éléments à considérer afin de préciser vos attentes.

Type de propriété

Recherchez-vous une maison unifamiliale, un duplex ou une maison de ville ? Voulez-vous une maison neuve ou usagée ? Souhaitez- vous être le propriétaire de la maison et du terrain ou préférez-vous un logement en copropriété où seule l’unité résidentielle vous appartiendra ?

Caractéristiques du milieu

Cherchez-vous une maison au centre-ville ou en banlieue ? Préférez-vous les quartiers récents ? Quelle est votre tolérance au bruit et à la pollution ? Souhaitez-vous éviter les endroits à forte circulation automobile ? Attachez-vous de l’importance à l’état de développement du secteur où vous habiterez ? Le règlement de zonage laisse-t-il de la place aux changements ?

Proximité des services

Quels sont vos besoins en matière de transport en commun, de services publics ou commerciaux ? Accordez-vous une grande importance à la proximité de votre lieu de travail, des écoles, etc. ? Vous sentirez-vous plus en sécurité en habitant près d’un hôpital, d’un poste de police ou d’une caserne de pompiers ?

Aspect intérieur

Quels sont vos besoins en terme d’espace ?  De combien de chambres et de salles de bains avez-vous besoin ? Souhaitez-vous une maison climatisée ? Quels sont vos besoins de rangement ? Des pièces pour le lavage et le bricolage sont-elles nécessaires?

 

Aspect extérieur

Quels sont vos besoins en matière de stationnement ? Êtes-vous un adepte du jardinage ? Si oui, quelles sont les conditions d’ensoleillement requises ? Souhaitez-vous une terrasse, un patio, une galerie, une piscine ?

Besoins de rénovation

Êtes-vous à la recherche d’une maison ne nécessitant aucune amélioration ? Si vous envisagez la possibilité de faire vous-mêmes les travaux, avez-vous les compétences pour les effectuer ? Sinon, avez-vous évalué le coût des réparations?

L’organisation des recherches

L’organisation des recherches de votre maison ne constitue pas une simple étape, c’est la plus importante et souvent la plus longue. La clé du succès dans le choix de votre maison est de bien connaître vos besoins. Faites le point avec votre agent sur vos priorités et tâchez d’identifié les caractéristiques que vous recherchez et qui pourraient faire l’objet de compromis. De cette façon, vous éviterez de perdre du temps à visiter des maisons trop chères, trop grandes ou ne répondant tout simplement pas à vos exigences.

 

Choisir avec soin

Lorsque vous avez trouvé une maison qui vous convient, essayez-vous de la visiter à deux reprises au moins, de jour et de soir, une fois pendant la semaine et l’autre, pendant la fin de semaine. De cette façon, vous pourrez vérifier le niveau d’activité du quartier à des heures où vous risquez d’être souvent à la maison. Vous pourrez aussi apprécier le volume de circulation automobile, le bruit ambiant, l’éclairage de la rue, etc. Vérifiez tout : tapis, rideaux, appareils d’éclairage, etc.

Passez en revue la liste de vos priorités et prenez le temps de réfléchir. L’achat d’une maison qui ne répond pas bien à vos besoins ou qui comporte un défaut majeur peut avoir des conséquences sérieuses.

Quelques éléments à vérier

Vérifiez l’état général de l’extérieur de la maison : toit, gouttières, revêtement,

peinture, etc.

La maison est-elle efficace au plan énergétique ? Est-elle bien isolée ?

Les coûts de chauffage sont-ils élevés ?

Qu’en est-il de la qualité et de la circulation de l’air ?

La maison est-elle humide ? Y a-t-il des traces de moisissure ?

Si oui, vérifiez s’il y a des fissures ou des fuites d’eau.

Avez-vous des raisons de croire qu’il y a des problèmes structuraux ?

Des fenêtres coincées ou des planchers inégaux peuvent en être les indices.

Actionnez les chasses d’eau et les robinets afin de vous assurer que la pression

est suffisante.

Déterminer la juste valeur marchande de l’immeuble

Si vous êtes intéressé par une propriété, il est important de vous faire une idée de sa valeur réelle sur le marché. Avec l’aide de votre courtier ou de votre agent, comparez la maison qui vous intéresse avec d’autres propriétés du voisinage et tâchez d’identifier les éléments qui peuvent agir positivement ou négativement sur le prix de vente demandé : site, dimensions, année de construction et état de conservation de l’immeuble, nombre de pièces et leur disposition, matériaux utilisés, aménagement du terrain,  caractéristiques particulières du secteur, etc. Ces informations vous permettront de déterminer le prix que vous offrirez au vendeur.

Je peut vous aider à trouver la maison qui vous conviennent. J’aimerais l’opportunité de travailler avec vous et je suis confiante que je serais d’intérêt pour vous.

108 queries in 1,008 seconds.
À propos de ce site
Outils